Skip to main content
--}

Crafting Curiosity and Connecting Community Through Digital Storytelling

We launched our Crafting In Place project in March 2020 as COVID-19 redefined the world. In these uncertain times, craft can be calming, inspiring, and sustaining. Building community keeps us connected and hopeful.

Below you'll find a list of upcoming webinars, live videos, workshops, and more, as well as a full catalog of past content. 

After multiple months of effort, a true treasure trove of resources has come together.  We hope you enjoy!

Upcoming

Webinar: Raptors of the North Shore

Airing LIVE on Thu, Oct 22 at 7:00pm


Register

Webinar: Lichens of the North Shore with Joe Walewski of Wolf Ridge Environmental Learning Center

Airing LIVE on Thu, Oct 29 at 7:00pm


Register

Archive

Live craft demonstrations, instructional videos, webinar recordings, and more!

Video: Viking Era Smelting—A Video Postcard

Posted on Tue, Oct 6 at 10:00am


Watch

Video: Fall Colors on the North Shore from Hjørdis - a video postcard

Posted on Thu, Oct 1 at 10:00am


Watch

Webinar: Historical Baskets Through the Ages with Steen Madsen

Aired on Fri, Sep 25 at 12:00pm


Watch

Webinar: Russian-Style Birch Bark Weaving and Decoration with Svetlana Koreneva

Aired on Thu, Sep 24 at 12:00pm


Watch

Webinar: Natural Dyes for Basket Materials with Karen Rognsvoog

Aired on Wed, Sep 23 at 12:00pm


Watch

Video: April Stone - Studio Tour and Work In Progress Demonstration

Posted on Tue, Sep 22 at 10:00am


Watch

Video: John Zasada - For the Love of Basswood Trees

Posted on Mon, Sep 21 at 10:00am


Watch

Video: Automata, Mechanical Marvels in Wood—A Video Postcard

Posted on Fri, Sep 18 at 10:00am


Watch

Video: Build Thoreau’s Cabin—A Video Postcard

Posted on Thu, Sep 17 at 10:00am


Watch

Video: Spoon Carving Traditions—A Video Postcard

Posted on Wed, Sep 16 at 10:00am


Watch

Facebook Live: Lunch and Learn: Birch Bark Tool Wraps with Emily Derke

Posted on Thu, Sep 10 at 12:00pm


Watch

Facebook Live: Lunch and Learn: A Plywood Canoe in Five Days with Josh Tolkan

Posted on Thu, Sep 3 at 12:00pm


Watch

Facebook Live: Lunch and Learn: Broom Making with Marybeth Garmoe

Posted on Thu, Aug 27 at 12:00pm


Watch

Facebook Live: Lunch and Learn: Weaving with Christine Novotny

Posted on Thu, Aug 20 at 12:00pm


Watch

Facebook Live: Lunch and Learn: Wool Felting 101 with Elise Kyllo

Posted on Thu, Aug 13 at 12:00pm


Watch

Facebook Live: Lunch and Learn: Willow Basketry with Emily Derke

Posted on Thu, Aug 6 at 12:00pm


Watch

Facebook Live: Lunch and Learn: Stitchery and Fabric Collage with Cheryl Larson

Posted on Thu, Jul 30 at 12:00pm


Watch

Facebook Live: Lunch and Learn: Traditional Swedish Hairwork Jewelry with Karen Keenan

Posted on Thu, Jul 23 at 12:00pm


Watch

Video: Insect Photography with Bryan Hansel

Posted on Tue, Jul 21 at 10:00am


Watch

Webinar: Cedar Strip Canoe Building: The Process and the Journey with Ken Koscik

Aired on Thu, Jul 16 at 7:00pm


Watch

Facebook Live: Lunch and Learn: Lost Wax Casting with Todd Hawkinson

Posted on Thu, Jul 16 at 12:00pm


Watch

Video: Net Making with Mercedes Tuma-Hansen

Posted on Tue, Jul 14 at 10:00am


Watch

Facebook Live: Live Lunch and Learn: Blacksmithing with Elizabeth Belz

Posted on Thu, Jul 9 at 12:00pm


Watch

Video: Natural Fibers for Netmaking with Mercedes Tuma-Hansen

Posted on Tue, Jul 7 at 10:00am


Watch

Video: Harvesting Cedar Bark: The Ojibwe Method

Posted on


Watch

Video: Forging a Canister Damascus Kitchen Knife with Cody Myers, Part 3

Posted on


Watch

Video: Return of the Sun

Posted on Fri, Jun 19 at 5:46pm


Watch

Video: Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum Shipyard Virtual Tour

Posted on Fri, Jun 19 at 10:00am


Watch

Webinar: Over the Horizon: Sailing and Exploring the Polar Regions of a Changing Planet with David Thoreson

Aired on Fri, Jun 19 at 7:00pm


Watch

Facebook Live: The Traditional Birch Bark Canoe with Erik Simula & Derek Rausch

Posted on Fri, Jun 19 at 12:00pm


Watch

Video: The Hudson River Sloop Clearwater Virtual Boat Tour

Posted on Thu, Jun 18 at 10:00am


Watch

Webinar: Songs of Sailing, Sculling, and Sinking Live Concert with John C. Van Orman

Aired on Thu, Jun 18 at 7:00pm


Watch

Facebook Live: Rope Care: End Whipping with Benjamin Byron

Posted on Thu, Jun 18 at 12:00pm


Watch

Video: Cedar Strip Canoe Virtual Boat Tour with Josh Tolkan

Posted on Wed, Jun 17 at 10:00am


Watch

Webinar: Indian Maidens and Plastic Tomahawks: How to Make a Living with Staci Drouillard

Aired on Wed, Jun 17 at 7:00pm


Watch

Facebook Live: Lessons from the Sea: Survival in Isolation with Captain Matthew Ecklund

Posted on Wed, Jun 17 at 12:00pm


Watch

Video: Hjørdis Slow TV

Posted on Mon, Jun 15 at 8:00pm


Watch

Video: S/V Dennis Sullivan Virtual Boat Tour

Posted on Tue, Jun 16 at 10:00am


Watch

Webinar: Sailing a Traditional Wooden Viking Boat Around the Cape of Storms with Rob Torkildson

Aired on Tue, Jun 16 at 7:00pm


Watch

Video: Blue Heron Virtual Boat Tour

Posted on Mon, Jun 15 at 10:00am


Watch

Webinar: The Hardanger Seksaering and the Traditional Small Craft of Norway with Josh Tolkan

Aired on Mon, Jun 15 at 7:00pm


Watch

Facebook Live: Lunch and Learn: Making a Canoe Paddle with Mike Schelmeske

Posted on Mon, Jun 15 at 12:00pm


Watch

Video: Sourdough 101 with Caleb Mattison

Posted on Fri, Jun 12 at 10:00am


Watch

Video: Picking Pebbles for Jewelry with Beth Carter Gautsch

Posted on Thu, Jun 11 at 10:00am


Watch

Video: Forging a Canister Damascus Kitchen Knife with Cody Myers

Posted on Wed, Jun 10 at 10:00am


Watch

Webinar: Fire and Ice: The Geologic Story of Lake Superior with Jim Miller

Aired on Fri, May 29 at 12:00pm


Watch

Webinar: Exploring Birds through Spring Migration with Margie Menzies

Aired on Wed, May 27 at 12:00pm


Watch

Webinar: Baskets Along the Way with Jo Campbell Amsler

Aired on Wed, May 20 at 7:00pm


Recording coming soon

Video: A Primer on Hand-cutting Dovetails with Kerry Lambertson

Posted on Tue, May 19 at 10:00am


Watch

Video: Studio Tour with Laura Berlage of Erindale Tapestry Studios

Posted on Mon, May 18 at 10:00am


Watch

Webinar: Celebrating Norwegian Handcraft from Sámi North to Wooded South

Aired on Thu, May 14 at 7:00pm


Watch

Video: Tree Felling and Chainsaw Tips with Marco Good

Posted on Mon, May 11 at 10:00am


Watch

Webinar: Greenland: Now and Then with Lonnie Dupre

Aired on Thu, May 7 at 7:00pm


Watch

Video: Kolrosing Grips with Liesl Chatman

Posted on Wed, May 6 at 10:00am


Watch

Video: Dough Kneading Techniques with Kim Ode

Posted on Mon, May 4 at 10:00am


Watch

Webinar: Japan: In Search of Modern Wood Culture with Jarrod Dahl

Aired on Thu, Apr 30 at 7:00pm


Watch

Video: From Tree to Table: Building an End Table with Randy Schnobrich

Posted on Thu, Apr 30 at 10:00am


Watch

Video: Tour of Kim Garrett’s Rosemaling Studio

Posted on Mon, Apr 27 at 10:00am


Watch

Video: Mending Sweaters and Socks with Yarn with Tasha Miller Griffith

Posted on Thu, Apr 23 at 10:00am


Watch

Webinar: Cedar Strip Canoe with Josh Tolkan

Aired on Tue, Apr 21 at 7:00pm


Watch

Video: Photographing Your Craft Using Available Light with Bryan Hansel

Posted on Mon, Apr 20 at 10:00am


Watch

Video: Tour of a Northern Minnesota Sugarbush

Posted on Fri, Apr 17 at 10:00am


Watch

Webinar: Life Aboard a Sailboat as a Family of Four

Aired on Thu, Apr 16 at 7:00pm


Watch

Video: Beth Dooley makes a Spiced Lentil Stew

Posted on Thu, Apr 16 at 10:00am


Watch

Video: Seed Starting with Ian Andrus of Creaking Tree Farm

Posted on Mon, Apr 13 at 10:00am


Watch

Video: Tour of Marybeth Garmoe’s woodworking and broommaking studio

Posted on Fri, Apr 10 at 10:00am


Watch

Video: A Tour Through Various Styles of Rosemaling with Kim Garrett

Posted on Thu, Apr 9 at 10:00am


Watch

Webinar: Making Bagels: Three Key Steps with Kim Ode

Aired on Mon, Mar 30 at 10:00am


Watch

Video: North House Grindbygg Timber Frame Tour with Peter Henrikson

Posted on Wed, Mar 25 at 10:00am


Watch