Skip to main content Skip to footer
Programs

Mini courses, family programs, craft demos, workshops, artisan residencies, and more!

North House programs offer a great way for anyone to come down and get a taste of craft. Some programs don't require pre-registration, making them convenient drop-in opportunties if you happen to be around campus!

Looking for programs on a specific date? Check out our Program Calendar!

All Programs

Youth Summer Camps

Mon, Aug 8, 2022 - Wed, Aug 10, 2022 – Youth Sailing Camp
Mon, Aug 8, 2022 - Fri, Aug 12, 2022 – Youth Makers Camp
Calling young creative folks!

Summer Youth Camps at North House Folk School: day camps for youth ages 8 - 16. As a camper you will try out lots of skills while making new friends and having fun! Youth will be in a small group while they learn from instructors who are knowledgeable and excited to help youth learn about traditional crafts.

More Information

Intro to Wood Fired Baking

Thursdays, June 23rd - August 25th
Students will be introduced to baking bread using a wood fired oven. Each student will get to bake carta di musica and focaccia while exploring the history and science of bread baking.

Children ages 7 and up are welcome, and must register along with an adult. Click below for registration information!

More Information

Try-it: Timber Framing

Saturdays 9:30am - 11:30am, June 25th - August 27th
Students will be introduced to the concept of timber framing by exploring timber framing tools, joinery, and history. As a group, students will raise a small timber frame and take it apart.

Saturdays 9:30am - 11:30am, June 25th - August 27th. Children over 8 are welcome with an adult. Click below for registration information!

More Information

Daily Sailing on the Hjordis

Wed, Jun 1, 2022 - Wed, Aug 31, 2022
Experience Grand Marais from the lake - sail with us aboard our 50' traditionally rigged schooner Hjørdis!

Sails are offered multiple times per day, most days during the summer. Click below for more information and booking!

More Information

Artisan Development Program Open Studio

Third Thursday of the Month June, July & August
June 16, 4-6pm  July 21, 5-7pm August 18, 5-7pm Drop by the Artisan Development Program studios…

More Information

Instructors in Residence

Thu, Aug 11, 2022 - Sun, Aug 14, 2022 – Caleb Mattison (Wood-Fired Baking) and Marybeth Garmoe (Broom Making)
Thu, Aug 18, 2022 - Sun, Aug 21, 2022 – Cheryl Larsen - Metal Dye Printing
Thu, Aug 25, 2022 - Sun, Aug 28, 2022 – Mary MacDonald - Weaving
Thu, Sep 1, 2022 - Sun, Sep 4, 2022 – Laura Brown - Quilting
Thu, Sep 8, 2022 - Sun, Sep 11, 2022 – Liesl Chatman - Kolrosing & Spoon Carving
Thu, Sep 15, 2022 - Sun, Sep 18, 2022 – Beth Homa (Birch Bark Weaving ) and Elise Kyllo (Wool Felting)
June 9th-September 18th | Thursday-Sunday, 10 am-4 pm each day Free!  Stop by our outdoor…

More Information

North Shore Swing Band Live on the Commons

Thu, Aug 18, 2022 – 6 – 8 pm
Thu, Sep 29, 2022 – 6 – 8 pm
Grand Marais' North Shore Swing Band will perform for your listening and dancing pleasure on the…

More Information

Tour the North House Campus

Typically every Saturday at 2pm
From the blacksmith shop to the woodshop, there is always something happening on campus. Discover the rich folk school tradition, visit the classrooms in action, and hear the stories! Meet at the Yellow Building - no registration required.

More Information

Looking for our full course offerings? Browse our courses here!