Skip to main content

Community Programs

Youth Handworks Club

Tue, Feb 5, 2019 – Session 1
Tue, Feb 12, 2019 – Session 2
Tue, Feb 19, 2019 – Session 3
Tue, Feb 26, 2019 – Session 4
Tue, Mar 5, 2019 – Session 5
Handworks Club is an afterschool program for local youth who love to learn how to make things! Youth will build confidence and community as they explore traditional hand craft skills.…
More Information

Film Night

Thu, Jan 17, 2019 – Tarfala
Thu, Jan 24, 2019 – 24 Snow
Thu, Jan 31, 2019 – Virginia Minnesota
Thu, Feb 7, 2019 – The Islands and the Whales
Looking for a cozy way to spend these cold winter evenings with friends? Join us on Thursdays for movie night! Movies start at 7pm and are free. Bring your own…
More Information

Skill Shares

Thu, Feb 21, 2019 – Steeking: Make that knitted garment fit!
Thu, Feb 28, 2019 – Maple Syruping
Thu, Mar 7, 2019 – Open Carving Night
Thu, Mar 14, 2019 – Carve a Coat Hook
Learn a new skill or brush up on an old one with these evening skill shares. Thursday nights at 7 pm, 1-2 hours long. No registration required.   Steeking: Make…
More Information

Borealis Chorale Composition: Community Listening Event

Wed, Jan 30, 2019
Join poet Julia Klatt Singer and composer Craig Carnahan as they talk about their creative process as well as the musical work they are creating for the Borealis Chorale to…
More Information

Fibers for Kids

Sat, Feb 16, 2019
Get ready to experience fun with fibers! Join skilled artists from the Northwoods Fiber Guild to create hands-on fiber projects designed specifically for kids and a helpful adult. Students will…
More Information

Spring Break Camp for Kids

Mon, Mar 25, 2019 - Thu, Mar 28, 2019
Spring break can be a time to relax... and a time to learn how to make things! Sign up for four days of fun in the workshop at North House.…
More Information

Skill Share - Culinary Herbalism Series: Food as Medicine

Mon, Mar 25, 2019 – Drink it in! Herbal Aperitifs, Shrubs, Cordials, and Oxymels
Mon, Apr 1, 2019 – Herbal Salts, Dipping Oils, Compound Butters, and Marinades
Mon, Apr 8, 2019 – Herbs Sweet Herbs: Baking Extracts, Infused Honeys,t Elixirs, and Chocolate Bitters
Led by Sam Martinez Ages: 10+ with an adult To register: Call or stop by North House - 218-387-9762. Fee: $20/session, paid at time of registration Location: Fish House Kitchen…
More Information

Community Classes

Tue, Feb 5, 2019 – Make a Braided Wool Seat Cushion - Day 1
Tue, Feb 5, 2019 – Weave a Plaited Black Ash Basket - Day 1
Thu, Feb 7, 2019 – Weave a Plaited Black Ash Basket - Day 2
Tue, Feb 12, 2019 – Make a Braided Wool Seat Cushion - Day 2
Wed, Feb 20, 2019 - Thu, Feb 21, 2019 – Try it: Felting with International Guest Instructor Karin Flatøy Svarstad
Mon, Mar 11, 2019 – Intro to Power Tools: Build a Small Table - Day 1
Wed, Mar 13, 2019 – Intro to Power Tools: Build a Small Table - Day 2
Mon, Mar 18, 2019 – Intro to Power Tools: Build a Small Table - Day 3
Mon, Mar 18, 2019 – Try it: Bead Embroidery - Day 1
Wed, Mar 20, 2019 – Try it: Bead Embroidery - Day 2
To register for any of these: Call North House at 387-9762 or stop by the School Store, open seven days a week, 8am - 5pm. These are designed for community…
More Information